Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: Antarctic Images  (Read 37013 times)

sg_smith

• New ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Antarctic Images
« on: March 05, 2013, 11:32:36 PM »
Hello

I love the images that are available on the arctic threads, If is alright I would like to start a thread on Antarctic images.  If this is not the correct way to start a new thread please let me know because I am new to this :)
« Last Edit: March 25, 2022, 09:42:51 AM by oren »

sg_smith

• New ice
    • View Profile
Re: Antarctic images
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 11:37:35 PM »
The attached link id to an ice concentration analysis animation I found at http://amrc.ssec.wisc.edu/data/

amrc.ssec.wisc.edu/data/view-data.php?action=view_animation&product=fusion/ICA

Cheers
Susan

AbruptSLR

• Multi-year ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 2268
  • Likes Given: 286
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2013, 12:08:06 AM »
Susan,

The images look great.

You can find images (and animations) of the Antarctic sea ice extent here:

http://arctic.atmos.uiuc.edu/cryosphere/

Thanks,
ASLR
« Last Edit: March 06, 2013, 01:13:51 AM by AbruptSLR »
“It is not the strongest or the most intelligent who will survive but those who can best manage change.”
― Leon C. Megginson

sg_smith

• New ice
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2013, 03:24:52 AM »
nsidc images of Antarctica
from MODIS Antarctic Ice Shelf Image Archive: January 2002 - Present

http://nsidc.org/data/iceshelves_images/index_modis.html

Vaughn

• New ice
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 06:09:35 AM »
This article is short and rather incomplete but it does have a nice radar image of Antarctica and some facts about the ice:
http://www.treehugger.com/natural-sciences/antarctica-seen-naked-first-time.html
Vaughn

sg_smith

• New ice
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2013, 12:01:47 PM »
Hello Vaughn,