Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: "Smart" and "Stupid" Questions - Feel Free To Ask  (Read 1039748 times)

bluice

Re: "Smart" and "Stupid" Questions - Feel Free To Ask
« Reply #2050 on: June 26, 2019, 07:07:37 PM »
I humbly ask one of the experts or well learned regulars here to shortly explain what qualifies as the dreaded dipole over the Arctic and how does it work?

kynde

• New ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 6
  • Likes Given: 65
« Reply #2051 on: June 26, 2019, 09:33:35 PM »
I'm not an expert, but wikipedia has a decent page about it that you can read before one of the weather gurus chime in here and provides more insight.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arctic_dipole_anomaly

thejazzmarauder

• New ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 8
« Reply #2052 on: June 26, 2019, 11:27:09 PM »
I humbly ask one of the experts or well learned regulars here to shortly explain what qualifies as the dreaded dipole over the Arctic and how does it work?
A normal dipole pulls in warm air from the pacific side across the CAB and sends more ice out to die via the fram. A negative dipole does the opposite.

nanning

• Nilas ice
  • 0Kg CO₂, 37 KWh/wk,125L H₂O/wk, No offspring
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 273
  • Likes Given: 23170
« Reply #2053 on: June 28, 2019, 05:57:46 AM »
I've wondered about this for a while:
When I read "a drop of -1,000 km2", I get that statement as indicating an increase, not a decrease. Losing -1 is the same as gaining 1.
Am I thinking correct here?
"It is preoccupation with possessions, more than anything else, that prevents us from living freely and nobly" - Bertrand Russell
"It is preoccupation with what other people from your groups think of you, that prevents you from living freely and nobly" - Nanning
Why do you keep accumulating stuff?

b_lumenkraft

« Reply #2054 on: June 28, 2019, 06:05:34 AM »
Yes!

oren

• First-year ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 3589
  • Likes Given: 3943