Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: "Smart" and "Stupid" Questions - Feel Free To Ask  (Read 1038962 times)

oren

• First-year ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 3589
  • Likes Given: 3943
Re: "Smart" and "Stupid" Questions - Feel Free To Ask
« Reply #2400 on: July 29, 2019, 10:04:34 PM »
 Welcome to the forum Memshin. The first post is the hardest.

Phil.

• Grease ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 76
  • Likes Given: 11
« Reply #2401 on: July 30, 2019, 12:09:19 AM »
My first post, after lurking for several years! I am not a scientist, but read quite a bit of science in my spare time. This includes reading (and re-reading) large sections of the blog "Science of Doom" to try to familiarize myself with the basics of climate science.
I recently Googled "climate science for dummies" and one of the top results was this: https://sciencetrends.com/climate-change-dummies-basics-climate-change-physics/
The author claims that it is the 'specific heat' of various molecules that determines their green house gas property. This is quite different from what I've read elsewhere, which is that it is the ability of different molecules to absorb and re-emit long wave radiation that is important.
My question is: is there an additional role for specific heat in the dynamics of global heating, or is this author simply mistaken? (He does not seem from the article to be a denier, but might still just be misinformed)

My non expert answer:

I think he is just mistaken.

O2 and N2 being identical molecules on each end of the bond just don't have the modes of vibration to absorb and re-emit long wave radiation. Together with argon makes over 99% of atmosphere have completely negligible GHG effect. Therefore as a result remaining tiny proportions of the atmosphere like 420ppm of CO2 can have significant effects.