Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: Lay People and accurate info  (Read 1594 times)

vegana

• New ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Lay People and accurate info
« on: September 08, 2018, 05:54:28 AM »
Hi.

I'm not a scientist but I did hear from my college professors in the Geography/Environmental Studies Department at San Francisco State in the early 1980s that habitat for humans and animals might collapse by 2060-2080. I'm well aware of all the eco-disasters in progress (eg: drought, deforestation, desertification, ocean acidification, soil demineralization, collapse of fisheries, plastic, toxins, radiation, fires, floods, stronger hurricanes/typhoons, insect decline, etc..etc..etc...)

Been following some climate/collapse groups on Facebook that run the spectrum from Guy McPherson (we're dead in 2 months) to Paul Beckwith (hopeful technology will fix it) to Michael Mann (very hopeful) and 350.org (LOL, they should update their name). 

I know things are dire. I pay attention daily to global climate/weather events via FaceBook (I know, I know...), TruthOut, The Guardian, Weather channel. I look at windy.com, etc. and NASA sites and satellite images.

Wondering where on Facebook (ridiculous, I know) and elsewhere aside from this forum (too technical for me, you might want to add a section for acryonyms, LOL) might be the most up-to-date and ACCURATE source of info.

I tend toward the soon/imminent catastrophic thoughts since I had trust and faith/love in the old college professors so long ago and I need to sell a home that is in a precarious location for quakes, landslides, fire, erosion, etc.  Been safe so far other than some slight retaining wall bowing out (portends disaster) but I don't think that it will stay safe after a Blue Ocean Event.