Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: Atmospheric connections, structure, and long range weather forecasting  (Read 39195 times)

sark

• Frazil ice
  • not a scientist
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 199
  • Likes Given: 77
Re: Atmospheric connections, structure, and long range weather forecasting
« Reply #400 on: October 20, 2020, 08:59:17 PM »
Find me another single month that is split at 500mb in the NH as I have shown repeatedly and I would reconsider this stat as a measure of anything.  feel free to adjust the scale, it may be not what I am imagining.

pointing at a massive average of the geopotential heights is not yet useful, and when it becomes apparent that annual or even seasonal averages are split at 500mb, I'm not confident we will retain the capacity to observe it.

The Earth is still round.. Is that the test?

Is splitting at 500mb a useful test?  It's a valid question.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2020, 09:22:01 PM by sark »
I am not a scientist

sark

• Frazil ice
  • not a scientist
    • View Profile
« Reply #401 on: October 20, 2020, 09:28:50 PM »
It seems that what would clear things up is a simple vorticity heat map of the hemisphere.  This might show that the split in heights is accompanied by a split in vorticity, which is really the issue.  Anyone got that?
I am not a scientist

El Cid

• Nilas ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 543
  • Likes Given: 102
« Reply #402 on: October 20, 2020, 11:10:20 PM »
you are right
2020 October is highly unusual

sark

• Frazil ice
  • not a scientist
    • View Profile
« Reply #403 on: October 21, 2020, 12:37:41 AM »
Wow, it really is.  Hopefully a lot of this fills in as we had peak events around the 4th and 17th of the month.
I am not a scientist

sark

• Frazil ice
  • not a scientist
    • View Profile
« Reply #404 on: October 22, 2020, 07:36:03 AM »