Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: Wildfires  (Read 545315 times)

Dingo

• New ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 2
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Wildfires
« Reply #1800 on: December 10, 2023, 07:24:47 AM »
G'day All,

Been lurking a few years first time poster. I am a career firefighter based out of NSW Australia, been at it around 18 years now. As you can imagine ENSO activity has been relevant to my interest for a while now, although I am interested and read on climate science in general.

Was coming in with some anecdotal evidence from my experience this season. As has been noted by many in this forum my service like all in Aus has been gearing up for a "monster season" the comments in regards to excessive growth caused by the big wet and it's unsustainability within standard rainfall patterns are very accurate.

However and much to my delight the season in NSW has not played out as badly as were fearing by any stretch (i am planting both hands firmly on my wooden desk as I say this). We have been very lucky with a series of storms coming across large parts of the state which have been just enough to keep a modicum of moisture in fuels, and the humidity has been pretty decent too. Also a lack of bad northwest wind days has helped, it's a little hard to put a finger on any one thing helping us thus far but even through record warmth in spring we have not suffered in NSW.

For non Aussies the two states which are usually hit hardest by a big Nino are NSW and VIC, the East/SE of the country. Victoria has also been relatively blessed this season so far (it is still very early days) yet as Rodius pointed out earlier QLD and the NT and northern WA seem to be having an absolute shocker.