Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: Presentation of Climate Change in News Media  (Read 2739 times)

Theta

• Frazil ice
  • Grips
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 1
Presentation of Climate Change in News Media
« on: May 06, 2017, 12:12:37 AM »
Hello, my name is Liam, I am a media student in my final year and I am currently writing a dissertation about how Climate change is depicted in news media, both mainstream and on alternative media (blogs and message boards). There is a lot of knowledge about Climate Change on this forum, so I thought that I would open a thread asking about the opinion of this community with regards how Climate Change is shown in the news media along with the reasons for why it is shown in a particular way.
Can't think of a signature

sidd

• First-year ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 1047
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Presentation of Climate Change in News Media
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2017, 06:21:50 AM »
Good luck Liam. I am sure that you have consulted with your university's review board as to soliciting human participation in any research. In the USA this is commonly know as an Institutional Review Board.

That said, I am sure you will find many here with strong opinions.

sidd

jai mitchell

• Nilas ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 207
  • Likes Given: 60
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2017, 07:11:59 AM »

mentions of climate change in news media

the spike in 2012 was coincident with hurricane sandy

The drop off in 2009 was the climate gate non-scandal after the run up to a vote on cap and trade.

the trend is quite clear, though I expect in recent years it has gone up quite a bit.

Haiku of Futures Passed
My "burning embers"
are not tri-color bar graphs
+3C today

Neven

• Administrator
  • First-year ice
    • View Profile
    • Arctic Sea Ice Blog
  • Liked: 1333
  • Likes Given: 617
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2017, 10:27:57 AM »