Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: Mechanical tipping points - are we seeing one now?  (Read 5381 times)

Whit

• New ice
  • Standing in a river, waving a stick
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 4
Mechanical tipping points - are we seeing one now?
« on: April 16, 2013, 06:53:05 PM »

First time poster here. I decided to jump straight in.

I've been following the blog since last season, while becoming a more and more avid ice-watcher since I started noticing the changes around 10-15 years ago. I'm a complete amateur when it comes to the science of ice, oceans and hydrology.

I hang around in the sub-arctic quite a lot, and the changes in wildlife, vegetation, natural cycles of insects, spring run-off etc has changed tremendously in the areas i frequent. I was born and grew up between 69N and 78N. That background has given me the opportunity to experience a lot of ice-offs, both in fresh and salt water.

Looking at the satellite images and the cracking I'm reminded of what it's usually like when you wait for ice-off on an alpine lake north of the polar circle.

When the ice cracks and takes on a more porous character one early morning, it's usually completely gone the next day. Ice-fishermen have been forced to swim to shore after pitching their tent on what they thought was solid ice.

I believe it has as much to do with mechanics as with how much thermal energy is available to melt ice. What happens IMHO, at least in fresh water, is that as the ice cracks, the surface that water or air can transfer heat to increases exponentially. It's not just the cracks per se. It's also the way the ice turns porous at the onset of melt. This porosity again increases the effective surface of the ice by several orders of magnitude. The porosity also translates to lower albedo.