Support the Arctic Sea Ice Forum and Blog

Author Topic: Sea Ice Extent Dynamics  (Read 9536 times)

Dundee

• New ice
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 6
  • Likes Given: 0
Sea Ice Extent Dynamics
« on: May 22, 2016, 11:07:16 PM »
I am only recently registered here but have been following the subject and the forum for years. I am a retired quantitative analyst (and nuclear submariner, and geologist, and radar designer, and day-trader, and a few other things) who finally gave in to temptation a few days ago and started downloading data.

I was looking to pry into a particular topic, but got side tracked while working up a useable data set. First cul de sac - moving averages are helpful, but large daily spikes in data still leave visible jitters in the annual graphs. In a graph they are simply unaesthetic but I am looking specifically the rate of change in the daily numbers.  When you drill down to these, even small jitters generate a huge amount of noise.

Many financial analysts started using digital signal processing techniques in preference to moving averages some time ago, and a 30 day low pass filter appears to work just fine on ice data. I used a FIT filter that preserves frequencies 30 days and up while suppressing frequencies shorter than 15 days by a factor of 30,000. If anyone familiar with actual periodicities in arctic weather patterns (who can follow what I am doing with the filter) would like to talk filter parameters, please start a thread - to be honest I was eyeballing it.

I started with IJIS data and quickly found another rathole too curious to not poke around in. Attached is a graph of the rate of change for SIE, which amounts to the slope (derivative) of the familiar SIE plot. Generally, these lines cross zero at the annual maximum and minimum, the bigger the absolute value the faster SIE is changing. The relatively constant melt rate from mid April through May is apparent (it was discussion of the "May Pause" that got me going with this).